top of page
  • Writer's pictureJulie Williamson

Just For Fun: A Dunkin Donuts Review

Dunkin Donuts Review


Centre Place Shopping Centre, 21st March 2019


★★/☆☆☆☆☆


For as long as I can remember, Dunkin Donuts has a monopoly over the New Zealand market for its large scale baked goods and beverage production. As a child, any trip to Auckland meant the budding hope of someone coming home with a dozen box. When it was time to get out of bed in the morning, my mother would wake us with an overly cheerful "Time to make the donuts" to get ready for school in the morning. And when the dreaded Krispy Kreme made their entrance, it seemed like I was the only Dunkin' devotee left standing.


Despite this, it wasn't sentimentality I was craving when I walked in through the doors. Instead, I was looking for something sugary, filling and most importantly - cheap. Off the bat, I noticed the donut prices have gone up from $2.80 to $3.00. This was mildly disappointing, but I'd been recommended to try the $6 thick shake and donut combo - which was really disappointing. The Bavarian Kreme Donut was appetizing but underwhelming. It's like the dessert equivalent of "he's nice, but is he too nice?"


After the unexceptional Bavarian Kreme, I was eager to try the thick shake, especially considering it was the time I'd ordered something from Dunkin Donuts that wasn't a donut. It was to be a particularly wild flavour choice for me. Vanilla. Thanks to my' out of the box' ordering, I was prepared for new and different. However, I was not prepared to need a box of matches to truly enjoy the Vanilla Thickshake because it had the consistency and taste of a discount store candle… New and Different, indeed.


In the future, I may have to just stick to the nostalgia, because this really wasn't worth the calories.





0 views

Comments


bottom of page